CEA Names 12 Industry Leaders to be Inducted into the 2014 CE Hall Of Fame

Induction ceremony and dinner move to New York City

Arlington, Va., May 7, 2014 - The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)® today announced the 2014 class of inductees into the Consumer Electronics (CE) Hall of Fame. The CE Hall of Fame was founded in 2000 to recognize the leaders in the consumer technology industry who advance innovation and helped shape the course of the industry.

"We are excited to welcome this phenomenal class of industry visionaries into the CE Hall of Fame," said CEA President and CEO Gary Shapiro. "These individuals inspire us. Their visions have provided innovative products, services and technologies that improve the lives of consumers around the world and helped construct the foundation for the next generation of breakthroughs and innovations. We are honored to pay tribute to them."

The 2014 CE Hall of Fame inductees include company founders and inventors, industry executives and journalists who promote technology, and the retailers that educate and deliver products to consumers. This year's class also includes two teams of individuals, underscoring the collaboration that takes place within the CE industry. The 2014 inductees are:

· C.W. Conn - founder of Conn's Inc. electronics and appliance store

· Dr. Levy Gerzberg - co-founder of Zoran Corp.

· Loyd Ivey - founder and CEO of Mitek Electronics and Communications Corp.

· Dr. David Lee - founder of Silicon Image, pioneering work on DVI/HDMI technology

· Cowboy Maloney - founder of Cowboy Maloney's Electric City

· Gerald McCarthy - former president of Zenith Sales Company

· Walter Mossberg - CE journalist covering the industry for more than four decades

· Tim Westergren - founder of Pandora

· Team: Victor and Janie Tsao - founders of Linksys who created the first consumer class router

· Team: Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil - inventors of spread spectrum and frequency hopping techniques

The new class of inductees was selected on February 19 in New York City by a panel of media and industry professionals, who judged the nominations submitted by manufacturers, retailers and media.

For the first time, the CE Hall of Fame dinner will move to New York City. The 12 new honorees will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame at an awards dinner to be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel on Monday, November 10. For more information about the CE Hall of Fame program, visit: CE.org/HallofFame.

About CEA:
The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the technology trade association representing the $208 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. CEA also owns and produces the International CES - The Global Stage for Innovation. All profits from CES are reinvested into CEA's industry services. Find CEA online at CE.org, DeclareInnovation.com

Featured Product

Yale Real Living™ Assure Lock™ with Bluetooth

Yale Real Living™ Assure Lock™ with Bluetooth

The new Yale Real Living™ Assure Lock™ with Bluetooth replaces conventional keys with digital keys accessed through the Yale Digital Keys app for Android and iOS mobile devices, and through an app for the new Samsung Gear S2 smartwatch. The Yale app allows homeowners to unlock doors, send keys to others, control when others have access, get a message when someone enters, and revoke a digital key at any time. Unlocking the deadbolt couldn't be simpler, whether using the Samsung Gear S2 or a smartphone. With the new Samsung Gear S2, touch the watch app to activate the digital key, then touch the lock screen to unlock the deadbolt. With a smartphone, Yale's "Twist and Go" technology allows the user to hold the phone vertically when approaching the door, then twist it 90 degrees to unlock the deadbolt. Homeowners can also unlock the deadbolt using its capacitive touchscreen and a four- to eight-digit code.