Advanced Media Technology Emmy Awards

Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards To Be Presented At International CES January 8, 2007

New York, N. Y. - August 3, 2006 - The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will add two new Technology & Engineering Emmy Award categories, marking the first time the Emmy Awards will honor the use of Advanced Media Technology in advertising, it was announced today by Peter Price, President/CEO of the National Television Academy. The new Emmy Awards will be given for "outstanding innovation and achievement in Advance Media Technology for best use by commercials," one award for personal media display and presentation technology and one for non -traditional platforms, including broadband, the Internet, video -on -demand, computer -based media players that are not personal media devices. The deadline for all nine categories of the Advanced Media Technology Emmy Awards has been extended to September 22, in order to accommodate these new categories.

The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards ceremony for the first time will be the opening night event for the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES®) on Monday, January 8, 2007 in Las Vegas, Mr. Price also announced. Last year these awards were presented at a ceremony in Princeton, N. J.

"The International CES has long been the launch pad of entertainment technology," said Mr. Price, "so it is fitting that our Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards, which recognize achievement in both television engineering and advanced media technology be showcased there. With the National Television's Academy's new efforts this year to recognize television anytime anywhere with Emmy Awards for content and technology, this move is particularly fitting."

Announcing the new awards, Mr. Price stated, "Our new Emmy Awards for commercials recognize the key role sponsors are playing in developing technological approaches and creative use of advanced media, including the Internet, cellphones and personal media players. Earlier this year, we added new Broadband Emmy Awards for television production in all of our ceremonies, including the Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards with an overwhelming response. We have noted inquiries from a number of sponsors who are using advanced media in unprecedented ways - ways that deserve recognition."

The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards will be presented for achievements that occur May 1, 2005 -April 30, 2006 in two areas: Science & Technology for Television, which includes broadcast, cable and satellite distribution and secondly Advance Media Technology encompassing interactive television, gaming technology, and for the first time this year Internet, cellphones, private networks, and personal media players. A blue ribbon panel of professionals in the industry reviews and recommends technologies and potential awardees for the Emmy Awards for Science & Technology in Television. Advanced Media Technology invites entries, which are judged by a separate panel of industry professionals. Entry guidelines and forms are available at

In addition to the new Emmy Awards for commercials, there are three previously announced new Emmy Awards for Advanced Media Technology being presented for the first time at next year's Engineering & Technology Emmy Awards. These are for creative work developed for the presentation of content on portable devices used for an "audience of one" experience such as cellphones and personal media players; secondly best use of "on demand" technology over private networks, including cable networks, set -top boxes, DVR/PVR, video on demand and IPTV, and thirdly best use of "on demand" technology over public Internet, including broadband technology, IP -Video, IPTV, downloading services (e.g. I -Tunes, Yahoo! Music, AOL -TV etc.) and computer -based media players. The entry deadline for these categories, like all Advanced Media Technology categories, has been extended to September 22, 2006.

Earlier this year, the National Television Academy presented its first Broadband Emmy Award in the Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony to Live 8 on AOL, produced by America Online. In May, the Sports Emmy Awards for broadband was presented to Off Mikes, a webcast on Recently, the National Television Academy announced the nominees for the first Broadband Emmy Award for News & Documentaries which included MTV News on The Diary of Gideon in Pakistan; Geographic on Hurricane Katrina Batters Gulf Coast; Op Ed Special Report: The Forgotten Genocide; A Shifting Bolivia; Child Porn: Interviews with Justin Berry; Fueling Azerbaijan's Future, and Hurricane Katrina Coverage in New Orleans.

The new Emmy Award for non -traditional distribution platforms was proposed by the Academy's National Awards Committee at its October meeting, and was approved by its Board of Trustees, in response to the burgeoning number of individuals and companies announcing plans to produce original programming for these media. Entries for this award must be original material made -for -broadband or made -for -mobile. These platforms include video blogs; website programs including journalistic reporting, event coverage or event analysis; mobisodes (short episodics created for mobile devices); video -on -demand and other video delivered over an IP network or platform such as wireless, broadband or VOD. Entries cannot be material originally produced for television viewing and then repurposed for the new media.

The new Emmy Award also will be presented later this year at the 2006 Business & Financial Reporting and Community and Public Service Emmy Awards ceremonies.
The National Television Academy is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Creative Arts, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering/Advanced Media and Business & Financial Reporting. Excellence in Primetime programming and international programming is recognized by its affiliate, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Regional Emmys are given in 19 regions across the United States. Beyond awards, the National Television Academy has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at

Contact: Cheryl Daly 212 -484 -9446

Featured Product

Aperion Audio - Award Winning Home Audio for less

Aperion Audio - Award Winning Home Audio for less

Aperion is a group of dedicated audio enthusiasts committed to helping you create the sound experience of your life, at a price that won't break the bank. We make award-winning speakers that look as good as they sound and sell them online so you get unbeatable quality for the price. You always get a 60-day in-home audition with FREE SHIPPING. If you don't like your speakers for any reason, send them back and we'll pay the shipping. Really. You get unlimited free support for your entire system and we back up our products with generous 5-and-10-year warranties. Since we've been around for over fifteen years, you're covered.